Willohroots


My Daughter finds a new Worship Group
September 16, 2009, 09:48
Filed under: faith, Reaction | Tags: , , ,
Humbly seeking a Greater Power

Humbly seeking a Greater Power

My family and I have done some traveling through the Christian wilds of northeastern Pa.  There was a span of time where we visited quite a few different churches bringing the gospel message and singing blue grass and Southern gospel music.   The kids were never overly impressed with any of the church families  .   Now,  I  will grant you ,  my girls are a rough crowd.  They are very critical of “Holier than thou” and have a built in hypocrisy meter that goes off with great sensitivity.  [ I just can't imagine where they get it.]

Often times we would  drive home with me being the apologist for the group we had just left.   Usually the conversation revolved around one or two of the group who exhibited highly judgemental behavior, or in some other way played the ‘competitive Christianity’  game and managed to offend my young daughters in some fashion.  In reality, it is not hard to offend young girls,  they are sensitive to even implied abuse.  I am not really sure the oldest girl ever healed from this duty fully,  as she still thinks 99.9% of all the Christians she meets are worthy of her disdain.  We are working on it.

When  the youngest daughter came in last night and announced she had discovered a group filled with humble hearts, seeking God, changing lives, and showing the way to Christ I was honestly  surprised!  Far more common would be here coming  home saying,  “You will not believe what I just experienced, and they call it a church!”   Last night she was energized in prayer, rejoicing over changed lives,  humbled by broken spirits, and warmed by love of others in this group and their love of a living God who is active in their lives.

Last night my daughter attended on open Alcoholics Anonymous meeting.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the post.

Comment by beyondtheendoftheroad

broken people who know they are broken make for humble communities

Comment by graceshaker

Psa 34:18 The LORD [is] nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.
Psa 51:17 The sacrifices of God [are] a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.
Psa 147:3 He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds.
looks like god agrees with you, friend.

Comment by willohroots

“In Love’s service, only the wounded soldiers can serve.”

Thornton Wilder, quoted in James S. Stewart, The Wind of the Spirit, page 155.

“All gracious affections that are a sweet odor to Christ, and that fill the soul of a Christian with a heavenly sweetness and fragrancy, are broken-hearted affections.”

Jonathan Edwards, The Religious Affections, Part III, Section 6.

Comment by Ike

Ike, you always have the greatest quotes. Thanks much for stopping in. I could not preach until I was broken, held together only by the loving arms of a Merciful God.
Only Christians can look back at the rack that broke us with a sense of gratitude.

Comment by willohroots

2 Corinthians 12:10 “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Comment by Shawn W

Hi. It’s been a long time since I stopped by and I’m glad I did today. This post moved me, seeing that though your daughter had had so many unfortunate dealings with Christians she didn’t become jaded and accepted sincere love shown through God’s people. I know you are a thankful dad.

Comment by musingsofastrongblackwoman

Amen my sister! I am grateful to my core! By God’s grace my daughter had problems with His people , not Him, and He gave her the wisdom to know the difference.
Good to have you back, don’t be a stranger!

Comment by willohroots




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

