Willohroots


Finding Joy thru dark clouds
November 25, 2009, 13:55
Filed under: Bible study | Tags: , , , ,

Tomorrow is my favorite holiday.  Thanksgiving has a great theme, wonderful history, and none of the stress and less of the emotional baggage that Christmas brings for me.  No. 1 daughter will make a great meal, [I can put up with fruit in the stuffing, I guess],  we will have guests, all will be well. All except me.  I am dealing with a wave of depression. The best way to describe it is having the feeling of Satan standing on my chest.  Seriously, if you have been blessed to avoid depression ,  I will share,  it feels like waves, literal waves, and affects even the breathing.  To me it is the virus of the spirit, a head cold of the heart.

So I turn where I have learned to turn for solace and strength,  not my wonderful wife, I learned that is really not her job, although she helps, but to my God through His Word.  I seek His joy.

Proverbs 15:13

A joyful heart makes a cheerful face,But when the heart is sad, the spirit is broken.

I do not want to be the wet rag thrown on the party tomorrow.  My fake smile is horrible.  I would starve as an actor, or a poker player.  You can read me like a billboard.  The spirit that I need to have to serve the Lord and my family is wounded if sadness reigns.  I am broken, and need mending.

Acts 13:52
And the disciples were continually filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit.

So what is wrong with me?  Am I not a disciple? I am sorely lacking in the continually part.  There are times I am joyful, and I praise God for the times the Holy Spirit fills me to the brim,  but it is not continual.  I wonder just how long those early followers were continually filled. Didn’t they have a bad day?  A bad week?  I admit, I have a weak week once in a while. So I turn to the Psalms.

Psalm 51:8
Make me to hear joy and gladness,Let the bones which You have broken rejoice.

Make me hear it!  My flesh does not want to be filled with joy, it seems to like this cozy cave of gloom and self pity, so God, please, make me hear Joy and gladness!

3 John 1:4

I have no greater joy than this, to hear of my children walking in the truth.

How can i not be joyous?  My children are not perfect but they are a blessing.  My #1 daughter is an RN, and a great one!  I have been told she lights up a floor with her presence!  She is good hearted, though rough talking, lives with us, she and her husband paying utility bills i could not afford since my lay off. And her husband is a good hearted man, who plays too much playstation, but has been as a son to me.  #2 daughter last night was sharing about the Lord with a recovering addict who is living with us.  She is a musician, whose songs have moved many people,  She dropped out of colege to pursue her dream of writting and performing music.  She leads our praise band and loves God.  Children like this and I am depressed?  Forgive me lord.

Romans 14:17
for the kingdom of God is not eating and drinking, but righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.

The thanksgiving meal is not to bring joy, but to celebrate it!

Psalm 100:2

Serve the LORD with gladness; Come before Him with joyful singing.

I forget that I, little old me, gets to serve Yahweh God!!!

Psalm 87:7
Then those who sing as well as those who play the flutes shall say,”All my springs of joy are in you.”

While I can not toot a flute, i strum a guitar. I look forward to an eternity of singing praises to God!  I like life, but death offers so much to me, a promise that I look forward to with joy.

Psalm 84:2
My soul longed and even yearned for the courts of the LORD;My heart and my flesh sing for joy to the living God.

I take refuge in my God, it is more an act of His strength than of my weakness, for His strength far surpasses my weakness.

Psalm 30:5

For His anger is but for a moment,His favor is for a lifetime;Weeping may last for the night,But a shout of joy comes in the morning.

I know the morning is coming.  The night may be long and dark, but the morning always comes.

Nehemiah 8:10

Then he said to them, “Go, eat of the fat, drink of the sweet, and send portions to him who has nothing prepared; for this day is holy to our Lord. Do not be grieved, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”

That is how I want to spend Thanksgiving,  giving to those who have not, having a holy day unto Him. I should not be grieved for the strength of the Lord does bring me joy.

Psalm 51:12
Restore to me the joy of Your salvationAnd sustain me with a willing spirit

The joy when He first touched me!  When i first realized, by the Holy Spirit, that He was my Father, I was a sinner, and that He forgave me through the blood of Jesus!  Indescribable joy!    Yes restore that joy to me Lord!  Sustain me.

Matthew 25:23

“His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful slave. You were faithful with a few things, I will put you in charge of many things; enter into the joy of your master.’

That’s what I live for, to hear those words from the mouth of God.  If I can be faithful  with His strength, not fail on my own, what a joyous reward awaits!

Hebrews 12:11

All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful; yet to those who have been trained by it, afterwards it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.

James 1:2
Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials,

So for now a trial, a dark moment.  morning will come showing me molded more in the image of my Savior,  brought a tad closer to His perfection, yet still miles away from it.

John 16:24

” Until now you have asked for nothing in My name; ask and you will receive, so that your joy may be made full.

So now I pray,  Lord God, in the name of Jesus I ask you to lift my heart from the pool of darkness.  Restore to me the joy of my salvation, let me sing Your praise, serve You, share You, and be faithful to you.  Lift the foot of my enemy from my chest and let me embrace my trials, as if i am in Your will, that is joy enough. Let me be joyously thankful in the name of Jesus.  Amen.

Whew!  That is definitely better. Thank you God.  I hope this helps some of you too.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Will, I will remember you in my prayers. My heart aches to hear of you going through this.

I won’t give you any platitudes. You did a marvelous job with the post by going to the Word of God.

All I know is, God is either in control, who He says He is, or He’s not. And if He is, He is bigger than any of our problems. Took me a long time to realize that and maybe I still haven’t learned that lesson.

Hold fast, brother! Our God is with you! (And so are Ike, Jeofurry, me, and others!)

Happy Thanksgiving to the ‘roots! I’m so happy to hear you will be spending it with family.

Comment by Joe Chavez

Thanks Joe! Our loving God gave me a work, another life to get involved with and help find the Path. Poof, depression gone while I am laboring in the field. Hmmm, do you think God is telling me to keep my hands on the plow? When I am serving Him I am fine.
May God give you his joy Joe, shalom!

Comment by willohroots

I will cyclically fall into that dark pit, too. Many times it doesn’t have anything at all to do with the circumstances I’m going through, good or bad, it just is. And I know the place to make a beeline to is God’s Word, but sometimes it seems to take energy I don’t have in those moments. You did an awesome job of pulling the chicken soup and ginger ale for a weary soul from God’s Word. Thank you. You’ll be in my prayers.
God bless,
Dorci

Comment by Dorci




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

