Willohroots


Harding Church of Christ and Judo
January 14, 2009, 08:26
Filed under: Uncategorized

willohroots, on January 13th, 2009 at 7:31 pm Said:
I must share this story in love with you. 30 years ago I had a Pauline experience, repented of my sinful ways, [I was a scoundrel] and sought out a church. Now churches were not a part of my former life, so I was in total ignorance. I went to a Roman Catholic Church and was thrown out for attempting to steal the host when I admitted i was not Catholic. I went to a couple mainline churches and did not hear enough Gospel. I wandered into a rural church during a business meeting. They were voting to buy false teeth for a widow. i looked around and saw a baptistry,
and oh how I longed to be baptized like my Savior, and i saw they had no organ or even a piano.
Thank God I cried! I have found it, these people are true Christian, they provide for the poor and can not afford a piano! I joined on the spot. Yes, it was Harding Church of Christ a non-instrumental work. I stayed with them for years even after the false start! I loved them. They threw me out when I won a Judo championship for my college. I am now an SBC Pastor, indebted to those great people who taught me so much. God does work in mysterious ways!
Jay Guin, on January 13th, 2009 at 8:09 pm Said:
willoroots,
That’s a great story. But why would they kick you out for winning a judo championship?
willohroots, on January 14th, 2009 at 7:55 am Said:
Jay, it was a long time ago. the brothers were concerned about Mysticism creeping into the church. I tryed to tell them it was Japanese wrestling done in bathrobes, but they would not buy it. There was at the time a TV show called “Kung Fu” and it accented the mystic parts of martial arts. Judo was developed in the 1900’s is very modern. bowing is not worship, but cultural, just a sign of respect. So I was given a choice, stay on in Judo or give up being a Lay Preacher, song Leader. With heavy heart i left.
The pastor and the people changed so greatly that in the same building in the 80’s, I was able to hold meetings for the “Harding Church of Christ Judo Club.”
Times change. Our God does not.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

