Willohroots


Happy Birthday, Dawn
March 4, 2009, 23:15
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

The Love of my Life is Fiftey!

The Love of my Life is Fifty!

Fifty years old.  I am in love with a beautiful mature woman.  For 29 years I have watched her mature in Christ,  and become a servant/minister to her family and her church.  Allow me to introduce you.

Dawn is the sort of person people talk to.  Strangers, customers, church people, relatives that gave up on me long ago.  She is in a word, lovable.  There is no harm in her, nor thought of malice.   She is kind to animals and people alike, finding a way to defend the behavior of everone but me.  That is OK,  her job, or part of it is to improve me.   God has used her mightily in that task, I know without her I would be nothing. 

Dawn manages my business, plays keyboard for the church,  is very involved in the lives of our adult daughters, takes care of a pack of dogs, teaches children’s church  [every Sunday for a while now], cleans the church,  [every week for a while now],  puts the praise team music in order,  finds new songs,  greets people, prays for them, and wonders why she is tired. 

This woman has been with me through cancer,  paralysis,  car wrecks, career changes,  death of my family, economic hardships  and depression.  With me, close with me.  Any of you only children out there get how important that is to us.  

God has blessed me with this amazing woman,  held us together, provided for us, and grew us into His servants.   He has given us an opportunity to show our love for Him by loving others.    I long for the day I can say, from Song of Songs:

My beloved spake, and said unto me, Rise up, my love, my fair one, and come away. 

For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over [and] gone;
 the flowers appear on the earth; the time of the singing [of birds] is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land;
The fig tree putteth forth her green figs, and the vines [with] the tender grape give a [good] smell. Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away.
O my dove, [that art] in the clefts of the rock, in the secret [places] of the stairs, let me see thy countenance, let me hear thy voice; for sweet [is] thy voice, and thy countenance [is] comely. 

I have learned the truth of Ecclesiastes 4                                      Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. 

For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up!
Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone?
And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him–a threefold cord is not quickly broken. 

God has become the third strand in our relationship, the strong strand.  To show us His strength He has allowed us to go through some trials and troubles, but never to go through them alone. 

I read this passage at our wedding,  some thought it risque, but not with the depth of love behind it.      Song of Songs 4              

How beautiful you are, my darling, How beautiful you are! Your eyes are {like} doves behind your veil; Your hair is like a flock of goats That have descended from Mount Gilead.
“Your teeth are like a flock of {newly} shorn ewes Which have come up from {their} washing, All of which bear twins, And not one among them has lost her young.
“Your lips are like a scarlet thread, And your mouth is lovely. Your temples are like a slice of a pomegranate Behind your veil.
“Your neck is like the tower of David, Built with rows of stones On which are hung a thousand shields, All the round shields of the mighty men.
“Your two breasts are like two fawns, Twins of a gazelle Which feed among the lilies.
“Until the cool of the day When the shadows flee away, I will go my way to the mountain of myrrh And to the hill of frankincense.
“You are altogether beautiful, my darling, And there is no blemish in you.

No blemish in her,  that is the truth.  Happy Birthday my love,  may God Himself give you the desire of your heart.  Amen 

                                       

19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are a good husband, Willohroots!

Somebody up there like you!

Somebody up there likes her as well!

God bless you both!

– Steve

Comment by theoldadam

may we ever be thankul for the gracious gifts god has placed in our lives.

Comment by graceshaker

Happy B day, may you shine even brighter in your future years to come.

Comment by AngelofMercy

Happy Birthday to you Sister Dawn, I hope you day has been a blessed one, and I pray if this day has been blessed that you have many more just like it. I love you very much, I have been blessed to be a part of your life. Praise God. You are all that and a bag of Doritoes with the extra cheezy Flaaaaa VAAAA!

Comment by Sister Audrey

Dawn, I remember well the day you came into our crazy family…..God blessed us….Happy Birthday……Uncle Jack

Comment by Uncle Jack

Happy Birthday! You are a well loved woman.

Comment by TabithaWynne

Thank you Husband.
Thank you all.
Thank you Jesus Christ for walking with me.
Thank you Holy Spirit for filling me according to your wisdom. Thank you Father for loving me,and that includes disciplining me. Thank you for the opportunity to serve, it is awesome in so many respects.
Forgive me when I fail, and I do.
God has never forsaken me or failed me, never. How do you tell the world that although you have trouble and the storm is all around, Jesus Christ is there. He is real. He never forsakes.

Comment by Dawn

Happy Birthday! May your wishes come true!

Dave

Comment by Cousin Dave

Happy Birthday Dawn!
Love Yah Lots!
Judy

Comment by Judy Clark

Proverbs 31:28-30 “Her children rise up and call her blessed; Her husband also, and he praises her: “ Many daughters have done well, But you excel them all.” Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.”

Happy Birthday Dawn!

Comment by Shawn W

Uncle Jack, I love this crazy family. This crazy family “took me in” and treated me well, like family. Thank you crazy family!
Shawn, did I turn into that woman of Proverbs? If so, it was my yielding and God’s shaping.
Sis Audrey, you are a challenge and a joy, and we are all that to each other, a challenge and a joy.
COMMENT by Dawn.

Comment by willohroots

Will,
You truly are blessed. I can relate to you as the Lord has seen fit to bless me with a wonderful and amazing wife as well. Happy belated birthday Dawn, and may the Lord continue to bless you both.

Comment by jeofurry

Dear Dawn!
From the first time I met you I saw nothing but God’s love and mercy and grace. You are always there to listen and help and take over. Your kind soul is such a blessing in my life and my familys’.
We love you so much! Have a very happy and wonderful day! God bless you so so much!
Love ya!!! 🙂

Comment by Patty

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAWN, MAY YOU HAVE THE GREATEST TIME. LIFE BEGINS AT 50. LOVED THE BIO. FROM YOUR BELOVED WILL. LOVE, AUNT JOAN

Comment by Aunt Joan

Mom,

I want to be beautiful like you. You have real beauty. A quiet and gentle spirit.

(Unless someone messes with your dogs… or kids.)

LOVE YOU.

Happy Birthday.

Comment by Melinda

Happy Birthday! You’re blessed with a good guy!

Comment by Hope

Happy Birthday you beautiful girl! Thanks for being so lovely and amazing! YOU’RE WONDERFUL!

Comment by Amber Troy

Dawn,
Happy Be-lated Birthday !!!!! Wishing you many more.

Comment by Cousin Joanie

Tell Dawn that I wish here a belated birthday wish and hope she has many
more. Boy how time flies these days and I,ll be 80 in June along with my
twin sister Kathleen. We lost our older sister in 1964 at 37 yrs. old
with cancer and our only brother last May that was 2 yrs. younger than
us. He had a stroke a few years ago and suffered for so long with it. We
just lost a cousin that would have been 103 on Sept. 1st. Hope things
are going well at the church

Comment by ken hunter




Leave a Reply

