Willohroots


UPDATE, COMEDY OR TRAGEDY? Victory!
April 3, 2009, 20:33
Filed under: Uncategorized

Blogs are not supposed to be am evangelistic tool,  but if it works,,,

I Posted a story about M. and B.  It was about the blind leading the blind.  M. finally found my blog and read the story.  His first reaction was that he could really help those two guys, then he realized he was the M. referred to.  

Something clicked.  He called this morning and asked, “What do I need to do to be Baptized?”   He told me he realized his life was a mess and he believed Jesus could straighten it out.  I was floored,  and thankful.  This has been a two year process,  with more ups and down than the roller coaster at Knoebel’s grove.  Tragedy averted.  We will spend some time together this coming week in conversation, I need to be sure he has understanding,  but I think his old,  dead,  heart has been quickened by the Holy Spirit.  Praise God!  This man has a story that would make a good movie,  and the best is yet to come. 

I have read many stories where a preacher would preach a powerful sermon, and someone would run down the aisle and give their lives to Christ.   I have never personally experienced it,  it could be my preaching is just not that inspirational.  I rejoice that I have seen people,  over time, finally come to repentance and belief.  I am just finishing a book  Zondervan sent me, “Flickering Pixels”, the author opines that today people’s salvation process  not like a light switch , on and off, but like a dimmer switch, slowly ramping up to the light.  I want to believe that.   It would make me feel good about my preaching, for one thing,  and give me hope for the glow of light I believe I am seeing in some at Dayspring.  We are up to 6 or 7 in our spring Baptism class, with a few more wanting to talk about it.   Not bad for a group of 50 or so. 

Thanks for your prayers,  and don’t forget B.  There is much work to be done in our area, the Field is as white for the harvest.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have read many stories where a preacher would preach a powerful sermon, and someone would run down the aisle and give their lives to Christ. I have never personally experienced it, it could be my preaching is just not that inspirational.

Not to knock what you are saying, because I know the feeling, but it doesn’t matter how good or bad the sermon is; it matters what the Holy Spirit does. I actually had a girl come forward one time in tears when I was doing pulpit supply at a church I didn’t normally attend. She had come forward to give make a public confession of faith, but it didn’t really have anything to do with anything I said. Sure, God used that sermon to stir her to action, but her parents told me that she had been “putting off” going forward for some time. That morning, the Holy Spirit did a “put up or shut up” kind of move in her heart I suppose.
Besides, I can’t imagine your preaching not being “inspirational.” I know from reading here that you are committed to preaching God’s Word and that alone will supply a boatload of inspiration.
Again I say, Praise the Lord for a new brother and for the harvest that is ripe. May the Lord of the harvest continue to send workers to the field.

Comment by jeofurry

I am no Bill Graham, but I do work for the same Boss. Thanks for joining me in Praising the Lord. Unless the Holy Spirit quickens us we are dead indeed.

Comment by willohroots

You know, I forgot to mention my initial reaction when this young girl came forward in tears. I actually felt bad for “making her cry” for all of a couple of seconds before it dawned on me that I had done nothing of the sort. It was God working in her that moved her heart, not some “great word” from me.

Comment by jeofurry

Ha! you thought you were a bully!

Comment by willohroots

Some people seem to be gloriously saved when hearing the Gospel for the first time and others struggle for long periods of time. I will be praying and rejoicing.

Comment by Ike

I’ve even had the Holy Spirit tell me to shut up! And when I did, regeneration happened.
Just preach the word like you are doing. The rest is up to Him.

Comment by Jerald

Some folks take more work than others, and the holy Spirit pairs them with leaders patient enough for the job. Glory to God! The seed planted and watered is ready to reap.

Comment by Shawn W

Any of my friends who have become Christians have done so after several years of interacting. (Average of about three.)

“How, then, can people call on someone they have not believed? And how can they believe in someone they have not heard about? And how can they hear without someone preaching?” – Romans 10:14.

I love how God uses human beings as part of his marvelous purposes. (Not discounting the work of the spirit at all here.)

Comment by Eclectic Christian

P.S. It is wonderful how a blog can be an evangelistic tool. I have a couple of non-christian friends who read my blog as well.

You never know who might be reading.

Comment by Eclectic Christian

The Lord is definitely at work in His Word!

Thanks for being such a bold underline of that Word unto His purposes!

Keep up the good work, Will!

Comment by theoldadam




Leave a Reply

