Willohroots


A Tearful Salute to my Fellow Christians
August 11, 2009, 11:24
Filed under: Uncategorized
I borrow my brother's image to make a point.

I borrow my brother's image to make a point.

I am using this image as I have stood where my brother stands, and felt what he is feeling, besides, I have no picture of me in like circumstance, and besides, this man is FAR more handsome than I.

I salute my brothers and sisters of the faith, who value good doctrine and try with all their might to please God by following His Word as they understand it, to the depths of their souls.  Good doctrine is important, even critical.  I do not respect the traditions of men, as we are sinful and fallible, and I truly believe that the bible gives us all we need to follow God faithfully.

We are warned in scripture by the Apostles, the Prophets , the Inspired Writers, and the Savior Himself, that  men would pervert and twist the Ways of God to suit the ways of man.  I salute, and I do not salute lightly,  your efforts and your principles. Please allow me to stand with you on the side of Scriptural Doctrine.

Allow me to explain the tears.  As a brother Fireman morns the loss of fellowship and the tragic waste of a death in the line of duty,  I morn the loss of fellowship and tragic waste of witness so many of my doctrinally sound brothers cause by their legalistic attitudes.  To some of these people ” legalistic” is a complement. “Competitive Christianity” is a sport at which all are losers. By being so conscious  of every jot and tittle of the Word, they seem to have missed the sentences, the paragraphs, the epistles themselves.  They understand the points, but do not connect them into a line.  It is in their criticism that their heart is shown.  Children of a forgiving God can not emulate Him by being , at least in their own eyes, perfect while seeing the faults of others. It can only be assumed that they have removed all motes.  Some examples found on blog pages and in pulpits:

  • Joel Olsteen is not Satan, Satan would never advise so many people to find a bible preaching church near their home.  You may not like his style or content, but Satan?
  • Billy Graham may have said a couple things you don’t like, but he never said he was perfect, he said Jesus was.  When you have pointed as many people to the cross as did he, feel free to criticize.
  • Mark Driscoll can not be called apostate because you do not like his T-shirt.  His word usage is appropriate for his flock.  When you have pointed as many people to the cross as has he, feel free to criticize.
  • All Catholics are not Hell bound.  I am no fan of Rome, but Christ has more to say about this than does the Pope.
  • It is possible that “theoldadam” has been redeemed yet not turned Baptist.  [I said possible, as in , “All things are  Possible with God”]
  • Rick Warren will not go to Hell for using Isa as a name for Yeshua the Messiah, it is no less an affront then calling Him by a Greek version of a Hebrew name.  Jesu forgives.
  • True life stories abound on the Internet of churches beating people down.  Graceshaker’s story brought tears to my eyes.  This is done in the name of Jesus?  Look around, you can find some bragging about these incidents.
  • John MacArthur is not the Second Coming, he is merely a great expositor, but human and possibly in error [but not much].
  • Steve Brown [Steve Brown,etc.com] will not go to the “smoking” section of the afterlife for being a pipe smoker
  • We are saved by Grace through Faith, not by our doctrine.

The attitude I have tryed to describe is one reason why it is hard to fill a church today, or find a church if you are looking.  My friend Texas Rob of ” A Voice Crying out in the Wilderness ” has as his  most recent post the desperate feelings of a futile search for fellowship in his area.  I have felt it myself.  Until I was in the pulpit at Dayspring I never had a fellowship  could fit into as the churches I could salute for biblical accuracy had a Pharisaical attitude, and the lovey dovey churches barely used a bible.

It hurts to see the Way of Truth and Love be used as a weapon. I am not sure my doctrinally correct friends will allow me to stand in their ranks.  I take great hope in Jeofurry, and Shawn W, and Graceshaker, Mike Bell,  Ike,  Joe, John, and Dr. Headly, and Rev. Andy Little, and the rest of you, who seem to understand that good biblical doctrine can and must be infused with, coated with, and major in Love.  John 3:16 shows us God’s motivation, pray that it becomes ours.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

had a phone conversation with a friend of mine a few nites ago. this girl is a pain med junkie and has bipolar disorder. she lives in a shell bc of wots shes been thru. she lives 1000 miles from me but considers me her pastor bc she cant find any church in her area where she feels safe.

when the kind of people who ran to jesus in the gospels run away from the church here and now it should damn well give us a reason to wonder how far from the way the truth and the life we have strayed.

Comment by graceshaker

I have nothing to say but,”Amen”.

Comment by willohroots

Will,
I appreciate the sentiment of this post. I am a recovering “competitive Christian” who always used to like an argument. I am still gung ho for the truth of Scripture, but I have become a lot more gracious in my “combat” as I take Paul’s words to heart:

12Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. 15Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you. 16Only let us hold true to what we have attained. (Philippians 3:12-16)

My constant prayer is that God will keep bringing me closer to Himself day by day so I can know and understand Him a little better each day.

Comment by jeofurry

I have given up on understanding Him. I just want to do the right thing by Him. I tried to join the “Christian Club”, but they kept throwing me out. I finally realized they were doing me a favor. What you are doing at your church is real, it is shaped like Jesus and by Jesus, how can that be wrong? If we trust the Holy Spirit we will be molded and taught by Him. What more could we want?

Comment by willohroots

If we have to be the voices crying in the wilderness, so be it. Let us cry loud and true, as you have done here.

There is hope, Will. I stood and raised my hands in praise (in a Baptist Church!!), and not only do they still want me back, but the Pastors wife joined me! (tongue only slightly in cheek)

Comment by Shawn W

I am trying to get out of playing guitar in the praise band, I would like to be on the floor with the folk, we do not need to be the frozen chosen. There is no need to attract undo attention to ourselves,or disturb others, but let us worship in a moving way that is free to move our bodies in worshipful response.

Comment by willohroots

Hi Will,

Nice to see you blogging again! Sorry to hear about your computer. I really like this post. Can I repost it on Eclectic Christian?

Comment by Eclectic Christian

Of course my brother, I am honored. You need never ask again, what is mine is yours. I trust your discernment.

Comment by willohroots

Jesus said to watch for those who will turn from sound doctrine and seek instead myth, that which their itching ears want to hear. It is not that Joel Olsteen or Rick Warren are entirely wrong, it is that they do not preach the cross. They have a candy coated Gospel that does not give the true message of the gospel. It is the little foxes that spoil the vine. The little misquotes of God’s truth can do much harm. Listen to Olsteen. See if you EVER hear him telling you that you must suffer for Christ. All you hear from those guys is what Christ is going to do for you. Giving half of the truth is a lie. Rick Warren won’t go to hell for using Isa as a name for Yeshua, but he will pay a price for trying to compromise on the truth. Please know my heart on this:Jesus died for the pure truth. Anything less is not acceptable!

As it says in James,if you desire wisdom on a matter, ask and God will give it to you. Pray about it. God bless you.

Comment by Marianne Lordi

Thank you for stopping by, I took a post of it’s own to answer, i hope you respond to that also, perhaps God can use us to mold and shape each other just a bit more into the image of Jesus.

Comment by willohroots

You write: “ Children of a forgiving God can not emulate Him by being , at least in their own eyes, perfect while seeing the faults of others. It can only be assumed that they have removed all motes”

You write about foregiveness.
(le-havdil) How to live in order to enable the Creator in His loving kindness to provide His kipur –atonement- is outlined in Tan’’kh ; and was also taught by Ribi Yehoshua. Ribi Yehoshua (the Mashiakh; the Messiah) from Nazareth taught in accordance with Tan’’kh the only way to get connection with the Creator,

This way is found both in Torah and in Ribi Yehoshuas teachings found in our website – http://www.netzarim.co.il

Anders Branderud

Comment by Anders Branderud

I like your ideas here. Be blessed and keep your eyes on Jesus, I’m confident his are on you.

Comment by Ken Stoll




Leave a Reply

