Willohroots


Having Christ’s mind, Treasure in a clay jar.
October 17, 2009, 09:14
Filed under: Uncategorized

Having Christ’s mind?

Human skulls containing the mind of Christ?

Human skulls containing the mind of Christ?

People can argue about so many things.  The condition of ingested prophets,[please see last post]  that old question of philosophers ” How many pins can you stick in the head of an angel”, the color to paint the lobby,  Scripture vs. Tradition,  all these have caused rifts from church splits to shooting wars.  How in the world can any group of people be centered on a common mission?  How can peace reign with free thinkers?

From Philippians 2   Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, 7but  made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.

The Savior could humble Himself to the point of death, most of us won’t give an inch on a committee if we think were are right.  We would rather be right than relational.  Our grasp on our rightness far exceeds or grasp on righteousness.

Philipians 1 Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent,  I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving side by side for the faith of the gospel, and not frightened in anything by your opponents. This is a clear sign to them of their destruction,  but of your salvation, and that from God. For it has been granted to you that for the sake of Christ you should not only believe in him but also suffer for his sake,  engaged in the same conflict that you saw I had and now hear that I still have.

Will we suffer to put up with others even if we disagree?  Well if Christ could let go of being equal with God, i guess i can let go of some of my precious ideas.

If the salvation message of the Good News,  “Repent and Believe!” is foremost in our lives we need to put all other thoughts in second place.  So i repent in sack-cloth and ashes.  There will be no  “1st Baptist Church of Jonah Died in the Fish, Church of the Resurrected Slimy  Prophet” .  I can’t break fellowship with Justin and Joe over this issue.  Justin I am sorry I called you a candi-corn eating heretic. [ I didn’t type it, just said it, sorry],  Joe I will stop digging for dirt to besmirch you, If you are convinced Jonah lived in the whale, well my love for you in Christ Jesus means more to me than my opinion on a small issue.  I wish to be forgiven and continue our fellowship.  I would rather be humbled than alone.

But,  just asking,  would it be all right if we examined and spoke of my belief when this issue came up, and could we have discussion without division?

By the way, this was one of my opinions that was brought up to me as a reason I should leave a particular church where I was active in a few ministries.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Spirit led ideas, non-hymnal music, thinking for yourself, searching the Bible to prove the sermon, holding one’s hands high during worship, all reasons many of us have been asked to leave one church or another.

I come here, because I learn things from you, and because you show me new ways of looking at things. We might not always agree, but my respect for you never wavers.

Comment by Shawn W

I thought you were just joking in your “rant” in the last post. That’s why I said, “ha.”

Some things we will just never know for sure. Whether Jonah died in body or only in his will, we just can’t say for sure. The important thing is that his will died and he lived to do the will of God.

Comment by Dorci

Your non-denominational self caught me! Yes, i think Jonah was dead meat, but i would never break fellowship over such a detail. I have been driven out of fellowship, however, for opinions like that. to be Christian should not mean that our head fits in a box, but that Christ fits in our hearts!

Comment by willohroots

Amen!

Comment by Dorci

Some things are worth “fighting” for….Jonah wouldn’t be one of them. False teachers…a whole new ball game!

Comment by Ike

Will,

I just had a chance to circle back around on the Jonah post and this one.

FIrst, it’s hard to really tell, but the last thing I wanted was to take a position of “Will Hapeman, you are completely wrong on this: repent!” That was not my intention at all. I mean, honestly? Will, you’re a pastor and I’m not! I have great respect for you, brother.

I was merely expressing something I found in a recent study I had done. It I offended, please accept my deepest apologies. That’s why I asked in my comment “am I missing your point?”

Echoing @Dorci’s comment above: I was assuming that most of the comments were tongue-in-cheek. I certainly would never want to cause a division between us (you and I).

The bottom line, I know we agree on the essentials. Everything else we can talk amongst ourselves and possibly learn new things. I may need to go back and re-read Jonah!

You’re still my brother, Will.

Comment by Joe Chavez

Joe, the whole thing was tongue in cheek! I really do not care if Justin eats candi corn! I am trying [poorly] to illustrate how easy it is for us to divide over smallish things.
Joe, what color was the foal of a donkey that Jesus rode into Jerusalem? What color shall we paint the church lobby?
Joe, your blog reflects a heart of gold and the mind of Christ. One great limitation on our medium here is that tone can never be heard.

It ain’t about Jonah, or Joe, or paint or donkey, it is about the Harvest! We need to hug in public and fight in private, by we, I mean all the different denominations in the Christian world.

Comment by willohroots

Yup, just as I suspected. I figured it was all in jest. I wasn’t offended. I just wanted to make sure that I hadn’t offended you. 🙂

No worries.

I know, the limitation with blogs–especially the “niche” ours are in–is that sometimes it’s hard to discern tone. Okay, nearly impossible at times unless you really know the other’s personality.

I think I know you fairly well by now as well as your sense of humor (which I enjoy very much).

Comment by Joe Chavez

Thanks bro, peace!

Comment by willohroots

Will, don’t ever give up your sense of humor or your honesty. You always give me something to seriously think about and I know your heart is without malice but holds so much pasion for our Lord and reaching the people in His name. We all need to realize that we should be able to chill on the small stuff and remember that we are all on the same page that God is Father, Son and Holy Spirit and Christ died for us and set the ultimate example on how to love one another. You take your job seriously as a shepard and I praise God for you!

Comment by patty




Leave a Reply

